Washington, Watson earn RCAC Player of the Year honors

Chaz Washington (22) led East to a No.1 seed in Class A2. (Photo: RON KALASINKAS). Rondell Watson (10) topped the RCAC with 25.2 points per game. (Photo: PAUL GOTHAM)


Rondell Watson led the RCAC Upper Division in scoring.

Chaz Washington sparked the East High Eagles to a No. 1 seed.

The pair of senior guards were named Player of the Year as announced by the Rochester City Athletic Conference (RCAC).

Watson averaged 25.2 points, dished out five assists, collected three rebounds and swiped a trio of steals to earn 2019 RCAC Upper Division honor. The senior guard netted 20 or more points in 15 games this season, including a season-high 37 on December 14 in a 99-58 victory over Edison Tech. Watson completed his three-year varsity career with 1,296 points. The 5-foot-11 guard paced a Leadership squad which was second in the RCAC in scoring at 77.4 points per game.

Teammates Kennyh Hardeman and Maurice McKinney joined Watson on the Upper Division All-League team. Hardeman averaged 15.1 points per game and tallied 12 double-doubles. McKinney was the squad’s third-leading scorer at 12.1 points.

McQuaid’s two leading scorers, Kobe Long and Jermaine Taggart, were named on the Upper Division First Team as well. Long scored 22.3 points per game while Taggart was right behind him at 22.2.┬áLong is 19th on the Section V active career scoring list with 1,094 points. The junior duo led the McQuaid Jesuit Knights to their second straight Section V class AA title.

Wilson’s Robert Davis and Franklin’s Brandon Moore rounded out the list for the Upper Division First Team. Moore averaged 20.5 points per game. Davis netted 17.8 points and led the No. 10 seed Wilson Magnet Wildcats to the Section V class A2 semifinals. The senior guard scored 1,673 career varsity points.

Brennan Clark and Malikk Johnson made the Upper Division Second Team for Wilson. Clark averaged 15.7 points per game and Johnson scored 10.3.

Franklin’s Tyrone House, Edison Tech’s Alton Knight and McQuaid’s Connor Zamiara rounded out the list for the Upper Division Second Team. House averaged 11.6 points per game. Knight scored 16.9 points and led the No. 12 seed Edison Tech Inventors to victory over No. 5 Rush-Henrietta in the first round of the Section V class AA playoffs. Zamiara netted 9.8 pointss per game.

Washington netted 15.9 points, grabbed six rebounds, collected five assists and five steals to earn Lower Division Player of the Year. The senior guard led East from a 6-13 record a year ago to a 21-1 mark, a top seed in class A2 and its first sectional final appearance since 2014. Washington finished his four-year varsity career with 1,191 points.

Teammates Zechariah Harris-Scott, Dyllon Scott and Damani Barley joined Washington on the Lower Division All-League team. Harris-Scott was third in the RCAC Lower Division in scoring at 19.3 points per game and tied for fourth in Section V with 16 double-doubles. Scott averaged 16.6 points along with 11 double-doubles. Damani Barley netted 11.3 points per game.

Tyquil Glasgow and De’Vante Mateo made the the Lower Division First Team for Monroe. Mateo was second in the RCAC Lower Division in scoring at 24.0 points per game. Glasgow averaged 18.4 points and scored 1,106 career points.

NE Douglass guard Jiahmere Mitchell rounded out the list for Lower Division First Team. Mitchell scored 19.8 points per game and led the NE Douglass Panthers to a 16-4 record and the No. 3 seed in the Section V class A2 playoffs. The senior guard netted 1,300 career points.

The junior duo of Adonis Flagler and Lamar Lovelace earned their way onto the Lower Division Second Team for NE Douglass. Lovelace netted 19.6 points per game and Flagler averaged 16.2.

Monroe’s Fidel Brock, School of the Arts’ Ethain Clarke-DeSouza and World of Inquiry’s Tremier Dollar rounded out the list for the Lower Division Second Team. Dollar led the RCAC Lower Division in scoring at 25.1 points per game. Clarke-DeSouza netted 18.7 points and Brock averaged 10.4.

McQuaid’s Jack Leasure and East’s Darrell Barley were named RCAC Coaches of the Year. Leasure led the Knights to back-to-back sectional titles, including a state semifinal appearance last year. The former McQuaid player earned the Upper Division honor. Barley’s Eagles were undefeated in Lower Division play and finished No. 23 in the NYSSWA Class A poll.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.