Monroe County Division I Football: Kessington shines on defense

Fairport senior defensive end Onome Kessington (76) disrupted opposing offenses all season, earning him Division I’s Player of the Year. (PHOTO: Tony Deleo)


The big boys in Monroe County Division 1 were led by Pittsford’s seven selections to the first team while Fairport and Hilton each put six players on the list.

Onome Kessington, a 6-2, 280-pound defensive tackle who recently committed to play at Cornell University, was named the Division I Player of the Year. A dominant defender who disrupted opponents on every snap, he finished the year with 44 tackles, nine sacks, four forced fumbles, and 20 hurries despite facing double-team blocking schemes most of the year. He was also named to the Division 1 first team a year ago.

“We are very proud of the way our players played and the coaches coached this year,” first-year Fairport coach Marc Vitticore said. “We look for highly competitive players and coaches who give it all no matter what. Onome was definitely one of those players this year. It’s nice that the other coaches saw what he did and recognized him for it.”

Of the 24 players named to the first team, 15 were on offense, which reflects the highly potent offensive squads aligned with Division 1. Twenty-one are seniors and only three are juniors.

Two quarterbacks were named to the first team, led by Kessington’s teammate Mike Pellittiere and Pittsford’s Matt LaRocca who started his career at Bishop Kearney. Four running backs made the first team, including Dante Coccia of Fairport, Wyatt Molinich of Pittsford, Nick Romano of Hilton, and Max Hoadley of Penfield. Penfield’s all-everything offensive threat Javion Monroe earned first team honors as a three-way player  (RB/WR/QB).

Tah’jae Hill (Hilton), Adrian Schmidt (Rush-Henrietta) and Jackson Westfall (Pittsford) round out the skill-position players at wide receiver.

Only three offensive linemen made the first team as Jake Provenzano (Fairport), Colin Burns (Hilton) and Jake Cole (Pittsford) got the nod upfront.

Jason Iorio (Hilton) joins Kessington on the defensive front, while Ryan Derion (Fairport) were named as linebackers Justin Tahara (Hilton). Six defensive backs were named, including Alan Lawson (Hilton), Matt Panara (Pittsford), Ben Hulbert (Rush-Henrietta), Gavin Carlesen (Fairport) and Sam Santiago (Pittsford).

Kicking duty honors went to Kyle Hennessey (Pittsford) as the place kicker and Noah Panepinto (Hilton) as the punter.

Hill, Iorio and Hennessey were the only juniors named to the first team.

Division I Final Standings Div
T1 Fairport 3-1
T1 Hilton 3-1
T1 Pittsford 3-1
4 Penfield 1-3
5 Rush Henrietta 0-4


Player of the Year School
Onome Kessington Fairport
Coach of the Year School
Marc Vitticore Fairport


First Team School GR Pos
Mike Pellittiere Fairport 12 QB
Matt LaRocca Pittsford 12 QB
Dante Coccia Fairport 12 RB
Wyatt Molinich Pittsford 12 FB/DT
Nick Romano Hilton 12 RB
Max Hoadley Penfield 12 RB
Javion Monroe Penfield 12 RB/WR/QB
Tahjae Hill Hilton 11 WR
Adrian Schmidt Rush-Henrietta 12 WR
Jackson Westfall Pittsford 12 WR/TE
Jake Provenzano Fairport 12 OL
Colin Burns Hilton 11 OL
Jake Cole Pittsford 12 OL
Jason Iorio Hilton 11 DE
Onome Kessington Fairport 12 DT
Ryan Derion Fairport 12 LB
Justin Tahara Hilton 12 LB
Alan Lawson Hilton 12 DB
Matt Panara Pittsford 12 DB
Ben Hulbert Rush-Henrietta 12 DB
Gavin Carlesen Fairport 12 FS
Sam Santiago Pittsford 12 SS
Kyle Hennessey Pittsford 11 K
Noah Panepinto Hilton 12 P


Second Team School GR Pos
Ryan Butts Hilton 12 QB
Patrick Sherron Rush-Henrietta 11 QB
Aaron Jenks Fairport 12 WR
Clyde Williams Pittsford 11 WR
Ryan Harmon Fairport 12 WR/DB
Jair Ford Fairport 12 WR/LB
Steve Kondas Fairport 11 OL
CJ Mason Hilton 12 OL
Joe Tuohey Hilton 12 OL
Michael Kelly Pittsford 12 OL
Andrew Copeland Fairport 12 DE
Mitch Carr Hilton 12 DE
Jay Jenkins Penfield 12 DE
Jake Kelsey Hilton 12 LB
Kyle Walsh Hilton 12 LB
Adrian Brown Pittsford 12 LB
Max Murphy Pittsford 11 LB
Ryan Marmat Pittsford 12 LB
Joseph Cocozza Penfield 12 LB
Cyrus Clinkscale Rush-Henrietta 11 LB
Adam Pickett Fairport 11 CB
Braydon Surra Pittsford 12 DB/WR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.