De Medeiros and Gagnier highlight Section V All-Tournament team selections

Brighton’s Christian Burkhart (29) registered three shutouts during the Barons run to the 2018 Section V Class A title. (Photo: MIKE GENTILE)


Caio De Medeiros netted game winners in Brighton’s victories over Spencerport in the Class A semifinals and in the finals over Churchville-Chili. Jack Gagnier duplicated that feat for Geneseo in wins over Naples in the C2 final and against Sodus in the regional qualifier. The two joined their teammates and more on the 2018 All-Tournament Teams as announced by Section V Boys Soccer.

De Medeiros was joined on the All-Tournament Team by fellow Barons Christian Burkhart, Rikki Nord and Samuel O’Connor. Colby Egan, Seamus Parker and Connor Starr represented Churchville-Chili on the Class A squad. Spencerort’s Justin Hockenberger and Jadon Schlierf earned honors while Jon Graziose and Branden Shugerts of Wayne were named to the team. Jon Herrick (Canandaigua), Connor Krapf (Pittsford-Mendon), Drew Kull (Pittsford Sutherland), and CJ Takatch rounded out the Section V Class A All-Tournament team. Brighton won its first sectional title since 2012 and beat Williamsville-East in the Far West Regionals to advance to the NYS semifinals held this weekend in Middletown, New York.


With Gagnier supplying the offense, Geneseo won its fourth sectional title in six years. Blue Devil teammates Danny Kelly, Matthew Kreher and Alex Kruger joined Gagnier on the Class C2 All-Tournament team. Aiden Peterson, Stephan Radak and Cole Rathbun of Naples all earned spots on the team. Marion’s Sam Halstead and Drew Holahan as well as Keshequa’s Riley Rease and Aiden Wood rounded out the C2 squad. Geneseo defeated Randolph in the Far West Regional and will meet Seward (IX) in Saturday’s NYS semifinal at Middletown High School.

C.G. Finney won its second sectional title in three years, and the Falcons went on to beat Avoca in the qualifier and North Collins in the Far West Regional to reach this weekend’s semifinals. Finney’s Stephen Folkerts, Keegan Ocorr, Emmanuel Rubingu and Jake Torrell earned spots on the Section V Class D1 All-Tournament team. Aaron Flint, Tyler Flint and Allesandro Sozzani of sectional finalist Jasper-Troupsburg earned spots on the team. Luis Saez and Collin Young of Mount Morris along with Max McCumiskey and Levi Webb of Fillmore were also selected. Kevin Allen (Alfred-Almond) rounded out the D1 team.

Justin Arilotta, Thomas Callery, Jack Gombatto and Noah Malta of Section V champion Hilton highlighted the Class AA team. Curtis Rowe, Ethan Scheuer and Billy Urbanski of sectional finalist Rush-Henrietta garnered recognition. Penfield’s Jackson Vogt and Joe Vogt along with Edison Tech’s Malik Musa and Rey Arizmendi also earned spots. Garrett Hungerford-Tausch (Webster Schroeder), Dan Malloy (McQuaid), Brandon Manz (Fairport) and Cameron Webb (Webster Thomas) were also named to the AA team.

Pal-Mac won its first sectional title since 1997. The Red Raiders were represented by Riley Cook, Jake Gallina, Bennett Medyn and Nick Sapienza on the Class B1 team. Livonia’s Jake Olver, Kyle Ullock and Jonathon Woolston earned recognition as did Dylan Ange and Parker Ange of Greece Odyssey. Martin Erdal (Greece Olympia) and Ryan Fishback (Geneva) also garnered spots.

Bath-Haverling, which won or shared four sectional titles from 2007-10,  returned to its winning ways with the 2018 Class B2 title. Sam Arnts, Thomas Becken, Thomas Binkowski and Nick Strong represented the Rams on the B2 team. Ryan Grisewood, Ethan Grover and Eric Woodworth represented Letchworth/Warsaw. Roan Mallaber and Ethan Smith of LeRoy both earned spots. Griffin Herron and Ethan Spinner of Mynderse were named to the B2 team along with Evan Dickhut (Attica) and TJ Tytler (Bishop Kearney).

Ryan DeBadts, Collin Karasinksi, Will Lamar and John Molisani of C1 champion Sodus earned spots on the All-Tournament team. East Rochester’s Nathan Jantz, Michael Raschiatore and Michael Rupp were also named to the C1 team. Williamson’s Justin Eaton and George Konstantinou garnered recognition. Josh Eigbrett (Avon), Matt Gabbard (Gananda), Matt Skehan (Holley) and Wade Thompson (Byron-Bergen/Elba) rounded out the squad.

Avoca’s Cameron Giglio, AJ Peterson, LaDre Stanford and Devin Stowe topped the D2 selections. Belfast’s Andrew Blocho, Caleb Caiazza and Section V’s all-time leading scorer Adam Enders (143 goals) earned nods as did Jacob D’Arcy and Seth Porter of Scio.

Class AA
Hilton: Justin Arilotta SR
Thomas Callery SR
Jack Gombatto SR
Noah Malta SR
RH: Curtis Rowe SR
Ethan Scheuer SR
Billy Urbanski SR
Penfield: Jackson Vogt SR
Joe Vogt SO
Edison: Rey Arizmendi SR
Malik Musa SR
Fairport: Brandon Manz SR
Thomas: Cameron Webb JR
Schroeder: Garrett Hungerford-Tausch SR
McQuaid: Dan Malloy SR
Class A:
Brighton: Christian Burkhart SR
Caio De Medeiros SR
Rikki Nord SR
Sam O’Connor SR
Churchville: Colby Egan SR
Seamus Parker SR
Connor Starr SR
Wayne: Jon Graziose SR
Branden Shugerts SR
Spencerport: Justin Hockenberger SR
Jadon Schlierf JR
Mendon: Connor Krapf SR
Sutherland: Drew Kull FR
Athena: CJ Takatch SR
Canandaigua: Jon Herrick SR
Class B1:
Pal-Mac: Riley Cook JR
Jake Gallina SR
Bennett Medyn JR
Nick Sapienza SR
Livonia: Jake Olver JR
Kyle Ullock JR
Jonathan Woolston SR
Odyssey: Dylan Ange SR
Parker Ange SR
Olympia: Martin Erdal SR
Geneva: Ryan Fishback JR
Class B2:
Bath: Sam Arnts JR
Thomas Becken SR
Thomas Binkowski JR
Nick Strong SR
LetSaw: Ryan Grisewood SR
Ethan Grover SR
Eric Woodworth JR
LeRoy: Roan Mallaber SR
Ethan Smith SR
Mynderse: Griffin Herron JR
Ethan Spinner JR
Attica: Evan Dickhut FR
Kearney: TJ Tytler SR
Class C1:
Sodus: Ryan DeBadts JR
Collin Krasinski SR
Will Lamar SR
John Molisani JR
ER: Nathan Jantz JR
Michael Raschiatore JR
Michael Rupp JR
Williamson: Justin Eaton SR
George Konstantinou SR
B-B/Elba: Wade Thompson SR
Gananda: Matt Gabbard SR
Holley: Matt Skehan SR
Avon: Josh Eigbrett SR
Class C2:
Geneseo: Jack Gegnier SR
Danny Kelly JR
Matthew Kreher SR
Alex Kruger SR
Naples: Aiden Peterson JR
Stefan Radak SR
Cole Rathbun SR
Marion: Sam Halstead JR
Drew Holahan JR
Keshequa: Riley Rease SO
Aiden Wood SO
Class D1:
C.G. Finney: Stephen Folkerts SR
Keegan Ocorr SR
Emmanuel Rubingu SR
Jake Torrell SR
J-T: Aaron Flint SR
Tyler Flint SO
Allesandro Sozzani SR
Mt Morris: Luis Saez JR
Collin Young SR
Fillmore: Max McCumiskey SR
Levi Webb JR
Alfred-Almond: Nevin Allen SR
Class D2:
Avoca: Cameron Giglio JR
AJ Peterson SR
LaDre Stanford SR
Devin Stowe JR
Belfast: Andrew Blocho JR
Caleb Caiazza JR
Adam Enders SR
Scio: Jacob D’Arcy JR
Seth Porter SR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.