Semifinal Preview: Class A Boys Soccer

Justin Hockenberger (12) leads a Spencerport squad which is unbeaten in its last 13 games. (Photo: CHRISTOPHER CECERE)

A pair of Monroe County Division II rivals, one MC DIII squad and another from Finger Lakes East gather at LeBeau Field Friday night looking to earn a spot in Tuesday’s Section V Class A final. Here’s the breakdown:

No. 1 seed CHURCHVILLE-CHILI SAINTS (16-2-0/Monroe County Division II) vs. No. 4 seed WAYNE EAGLES (16-1-1/Finger Lakes East)

Mario Cozzo (7) is one of four Churchville-Chili Saints who have scored 10 or more goals this season. (Photo: CHRISTOPHER CECERE)

How they got here: Churchville (No. 6 NYSSWA) opened with a 13-0 win over No. 16 seed East before beating ninth-seeded Pittsford-Mendon, 3-1. Wayne edged No. 13 seed HF-L, 2-1 and beat No. 12 Irondequoit, 2-0 to reach Friday’s semifinals.

Total goals scored: Churchville-Chili (74), Wayne (77)
Total goals allowed: Churchville-Chili (12), Wayne (8)

Last time they met: Teams have not played each other in the past 25 years.

Trends: C-C has won seven consecutive and allowed two goals in their past six games. Wayne has won 14 in a row. The Eagles have allowed one goal in their past five outings.

Names to know: Churchville-Chili – Mario Cozzo (11 goals, nine assists), Colby Egan (12 goals, nine assists), Vinnie Mathias (five goals, one assist), Seamus Parker (four goals, 12 assists), Chase Richardson (895 minutes played, 10 goals allowed), Dylan Rippe (19 goals, 10 assists) and Andrew Vannest (12 goals, 11 assists).


Wayne – Cullen Bock (21 goals, 10 assists), Dylan Cook (seven goals, eight assists), Matt Gentile (13 goals, 18 assists), Jon Graziose (two goals, two assists), Devin LaDue (13 goals, eight assists), Tom Rauen (three goals, one assist), Louis Reding (three goals, two assists) and Branden Shugerts (68 saves, six goals allowed).

Cullen Bock (16) leads Wayne with 21 goals and 10 assists this season. (Photo: MIKE GENTILE)

Coaches: John Mahoney (Churchville-Chili), Tim Mattle (Wayne).

History 101: C-C is making its first semifinal appearance since reaching the 2015 AA final four. The Saints are looking to reach the finals for the first time since advancing to the 2013 AA title game. Wayne is making its third straight semifinal appearance. The Eagles lost to Pittsford-Mendon in the 2005 Class A championship game.


A 7:30 PM kickoff is scheduled at Hilton Central Schools.

No. 2 seed SPENCERPORT RANGERS (14-3-1/Monroe County Division II) vs. No. 3 seed BRIGHTON BARONS (14-4-0/Monroe County Division III)

How they got here: Spencerport (No. 19 NYSSWA) opened sectionals with a 2-0 win over No. 15 Brockport before edging seventh-seeded Greece Athena, 2-1. Brighton (No. 14 NYSSWA) beat No. 14 Aquinas, 4-0 and outlasted divisional rival Pittsford Sutherland, 3-1.

Total goals scored: Spencerport (38), Brighton (50).
Total goals allowed: Spencerport (17), Brighton (20).

Last time they met in the postseason: Brighton defeated Spencerport, 2-1 in the 2015 Class A1 semifinals.

Trends: Spencerport has won seven straight and is unbeaten in its last 13. The Rangers allowed eight goals in a loss to Churchville-Chili on September fourth. In the 15 games since then, Spencerport has surrendered seven goals. Brighton has won six straight and 11 of 12. The Barons’ four losses have all been by one goal including two in overtime both decided with a penalty kick.

Names to know: Spencerport – Justin Hockenberger (11 goals, three assists), Max LaRosa (nine goals, five assists), Gino Pellett (four goals), Ajan Rajamohan (one goal, five assists), Greg Ranieri (three assists), Jadon Schlierf (63 saves, 11 goals allowed), Robby Streicher (two goals), Tristan Szczepanski (one goal, two assists) and Ivan Valodzka (four goals, two assists).

Sam O’Connor (11)has 10 goals and two assists for Brighton. (Photo: SUE KANE)

Brighton – Gabriel Barraclough-Tan (eight goals, three assists), Christian Burkhart (four goals, 60 saves, 18 goals allowed), Caio De Medeiros (seven goals, 10 assists), Nico Leone (two goals, four assists), Connor McQuillan (10 goals, seven assists), Mat Ochs (two goals, eight assists), Sam O’Connor (10 goals, two assists) and Theo Viggiani-Cole (one goal, two assists).

Coaches: Tom Etsler (Spencerport), Adam Hiller (Brighton).

History 101: Spencerport is looking for its first trip to the finals since 2012 when the Rangers won the AA2 crown. That was the last of three straight titles Spencerport won or shared. Brighton advanced to the A1 finals a year ago. The Barons won the 2012 A1 championship.


A 5:15 PM kickoff is scheduled at Hilton Central Schools.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.