Semi-Finals Preview: Section V Class AA Boys Soccer

No. 1 Fairport (15-1-1/8-1-1 Monroe County D1) vs. No. 4 Rush-Henrietta (11-5-0/5-5-0 Monroe County D1)

How they got here: Fairport defeated No. 9 Churchville-Chili in the Class AA quarter-finals, 5-1. R-H beat Victor in the quarter-finals, 4-3.

Season series: The teams split a pair of regular season matches with R-H handing Fairport its only loss – a 3-2 decision on August 31st. The Red Raiders avenged that setback with a 4-1 victory on September 23rd.

Fairport has won three in a row and is undefeated in its last 15. The Comets have won six straight.

Names to Know: Fairport – Peter Critchlow (17 goals, 6 assists), Matt Gasbarre (8 goals, 5 assists), Nick Guida (7 goals, 10 assists), Omar Qadri (6 goals, 1 assist), Diego Zavala (4 goals, 7 assists), Christopher Barker (3 goals, 8 assists), Nick Turturro (51 saves, 972 minutes played – 0.741 goals against average).

Rush-Henrietta – Zein Mohamed (10 goals, 7 assists), Sam Smyth (9 goals, 5 assists), Justen Polk (7 goals, 8 assists), Evan Neighbour (3 goals, 3 assists), Tyler Beach (57 saves, 949 minutes played – 1.43 goals against average).

Coaches: Gianni Bussani (Fairport), Peter Dietz (Rush-Henrietta)

History 101: Fairport fell to Hilton in last year’s finals. The Red Raiders have won or shared eight Section V titles since 1978 including 2013 and 2014 when they advanced to the state finals in both years. ┬áR-H reached the semi-finals for the first time since 2011. The Comets fell to Fairport in the 2008 finals. R-H is looking for its first boys soccer sectional title.

A 5 p.m. kickoff is scheduled at Rhinos’ Stadium, Thursday.


No. 6 Webster Schroeder (10-7-1/6-4-0 Monroe County D2) vs. No. 7 Webster Thomas (10-6-2/7-1-2 Monroe County D2)

How they got here: Schroeder defeated Gates-Chili, 3-0 in first round action before advancing on PKs over McQuaid. Thomas shut out Edison/Monroe, 3-0 and knocked off reigning champion, Hilton, 4-2.

Season series: The cross-town rivals split the season series with both winning on their home turf, 2-1.

Schroeder has won five straight. Thomas has taken their last two after ending the regular season with a pair of setbacks.

Names to Know: Schroeder – Colin Merkey (6 goals, 2 assists), Serkan Ozay (6 goals, 2 assists), Joe Terruli (5 goals, 2 assists), Ryan Delaney (3 goals, 2 assists), Andriy Demydiv (2 goals, 2 assists), John Stocum (27 saves, 402 MP, 1.791 GAA).

Thomas – Cuneyt Vardar (7 goals, 3 assists), Ryan Cullen (5 goals, 1 assist), Luke Piazza (4 goals, 1 assist), Danny Charleton (3 goals, 1 assist), Matt Hill (2 goals, 3 assists) and Andrew Kennedy (101 saves, 1330 MP, 1.023 GAA).

Coaches: Dave Urbanski (Schroeder), Steve Grose (Thomas)

History 101: Last time these two met in sectional play, then No. 6 Thomas beat No. 3 Schroeder 1-0 in the 2014 quarter-finals. Schroeder won the 2012 and 2011 titles and took a share of the 2010 crown. Thomas won three straight AA titles from 2006-2008. The Titans claimed the 1982 AAA championship.

A 7:30 p.m. start is slated at Rhinos’ Stadium on Thursday.

Screen grab courtesy of


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.