Wall, Collins, O’Hara, Hewlett and Murphy lead Monroe All-County selections

Penfield’s Grace Murphy, the 2018 Monroe County Division I Player of the Year, shared the 2019 honor with Webster Schroeder’s Anna Hoewlett. (Photo: DENNIS JOYCE)


Spencerport goalkeeper Catherine Wall, Pittsford-Mendon’s Grace O’Hara and Greece Olympia’s Grace Collins were all voted Monroe County Player of the Year in their respective divisions. Webster Schroeder’s Anna Hewlett earned Division I Co-Player of the Year alongside second-year recipient, Penfield’s Grace Murphy

Three teams featured two players on the Monroe County Division I first team. Fairport (10-6-2) placed Kaitlyn Diem (midfielder; nine goals, four assists) and Class AA seventh team all-state member Lilian Hicks (defender; three goals, six assists) on the squad. Class AA sixth team all-state selection Autumn Edwards (midfielder/forward; 12 goals, seven assists) and Victoria Talone (defender/midfielder; one assist) for Hilton (8-6-4) both earned honors. Class AA seventh team all-state selection Oumou Donzo (forward; 19 goals, five assists) and Courtney Rowe (midfielder/forward; two goals, one assist) for Rush-Henrietta (7-10-0) also earned spots on first team All-County.


Following an undefeated season, Webster Schroeder’s Hewlett (midfielder/forward; 13 goals, four assists NYS Class AA second team and All-East Region), was joined by teammates Emma Leonardo (midfielder; two goals, one assist/fifth team all state), Ashley Jacobs (midfielder/forward; three goals, five assists), and Mikayla Morelli (defender). For the second straight year, Murphy (defender/midfielder Class AA third team all state and All-East Region; four goals, two assists) was named Player of the Year. Teammate Rebecca Rolland (forward; 12 goals, six assists) also earned first team honors for a second straight year. Victoria Sabel (midfielder/forward; four goals, two assists) improved from second team honors last season for the Patriots (13-2-4). Victor’s Olivia Damico (midfielder; seven goals, four assists) earned Class AA third team all-state honors and rounded out the Division I First Team All-County selection as the lone Blue Devil.

Anna Hewlett, a Class AA second team all state and All-East Region selection, scored 13 goals and added four assists for Webster Schroeder. (Photo: HEATHER FRY)

The Spencerport Rangers (15-4-3) and the Webster Thomas Warriors (6-7-3) made up half of the Division II first team selections. Division Player of the Year and Class A first team all-state member, Cat Wall (goalkeeper 142 saves, 95.30 save percentage, 1361 minutes played) was accompanied by teammates Corynna Rotoli (midfielder/forward; 14 goals, three assists), Maddie Tortora, a second team all-state inductee, (defender; one goal, four assists) and Sabrina Trapani (midfielder; four goals, three assists). Improving from 4-10-2 to 6-7-3 over the span of a year Webster Thomas’s head coach Scott Brown received Coach of the Year recognition and six players were voted into Division II’s first and second teams. Goalkeeper Annika Monfort (goalkeeper; 159 saves, 90.34 save percentage, 1330 minutes played), who earned Class AA fourth team all-state honors, Alyssa Ogi (defender/midfielder; one goal, one assist) and senior Paige Boulter (forward; seven goals, four assists) were the three first team selections for the Titans.

Cat Wall led Spencerport to its fourth straight sectional and regional titles. (Photo: PAUL GOTHAM)

Class A fifth team all-state inductee, Hannah Shipley (midfielder/forward; seven goals, three assists) and Angelica Reina (defender/midfielder; two assists) represented Churchville-Chili (10-8-0) while Ashley McCullough (defender; two goals, one assist) and Alyssa Diaz (forward; eight goals, five assists) were chosen from Gates-Chili (3-11-3). Irondequoit’s Lillian Gillett (midfielder/forward; 10 goals) and Lilli Hebblethwaite (defender/midfielder; one goal, one assist) provided skillsets on both sides of the ball for the All-County squad.


Despite losing in the sectional finals to Spencerport, Pittsford-Mendon (14-4-1) won its division by outlasting Pittsford Sutherland (13-5-1) in the semifinal match, 2-0. Both Pittsford squads combined for 27 wins on the year and seven players named to the Division III All-County roster. Kira Bolanos (midfielder; two goals, four assists), Ary Lougher (goalkeeper; 67 saves, 90.54 save percentage, 953 minutes played), Addie Bryson (defender; three goals) and O’Hara, a Class A second team all-state inductee and DIII Player of the Year, (midfielder/forward; 19 goals, seven assists) led the Vikings throughout the 2019 season. For the Knights, it was Fiona Wilmot (midfielder/forward; six goals, one assist), Ava O’Niel (defender/midfielder; six goals, six assists) and Laura Bennett (defender/midfielder; four goals, two assists) to receive honors.

Monroe County Division III Player of the Year Grace O’Hara scored 19 goals to lead Pittsford Mendon. (Photo: PAUL GOTHAM)

Greece Athena (4-12-1) supplied two players from its backfield; Class A third team all-state member, Ava Valachovic (goalkeeper; 200 saves, 84.75 save percentage, 1340 minutes played) and Larissa Johnston (defender). Class A third team all-state selection Emily Parker (forward; 17 goals, 13 assists) and Jenna McNulty (defender; one assist) led the Brockport Blue Devils (11-4-4) on either side of the field while Juliette Frischmann, a Class A fourth team selection, (forward; 16 goals, four assists) and Amelia Aduitori (midfielder; seven goals, five assists) bolstered Brighton’s offense throughout the year.

Monroe County Division IV Player of Year Grace Collins scored 19 goals and added 13 assists to lead Greece Olympia. (Photo: PAUL GOTHAM)

Greece Olympia (17-4-1) captured a Division IV title and concluded its season in the NYS tournament semifinals behind the play of four first team selections including Class B first team all-state selection Grace Collins (midfielder/forward; 19 goals, 13 assists). Class B second team all-state member Kuditra Derosa (goalkeeper/forward; 27 goals, 11 assists), Morgan Welch (midfielder; four goals, four assists) and Jacey Palmgreen (defender; two assists) were the other three Spartans to join Collins.

Although Honeoye Falls-Lima (5-10-1) had double the amount of losses than wins, six of its 10 defeats were by one goal this year and four of the six were by 1-0 scores. For its defensive posture, three players were selected from the Cougars backfield; Mari Spitz, a Class A sixth team member, (goalkeeper; 113 saves, 82.48 save percentage, 1190 minutes played), Lindsay Cody (defender/midfielder; two goals, one assist) and Brittany Alexander (defender; one goal, four assists). Batavia seniors Katie Moore, a Class B second team all-state inductee, (forward; 25 goals, three assists), Erica Flint (defender/midfielder; three goals, one assist) and Madeline Taggart (defender; three assists) received first team honors. Emma Fredrick (goalkeeper/defender; one goal) and Torrie Valle (goalkeeper; 223 saves, 80.22 save percentage, 1378 minutes played) represented Greece-Odyssey (6-12-0) while Sierra Manning (forward; 12 goals, one assist) was the lone representative for Eastridge (2-14-0).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.