RCAC Football: McQuaid’s Walsh tops All-Conference selections

Hunter Walsh (10) led the McQuaid Knights to the Class AA finals and was named RCAC Player of the Year. He completed 180-of-269 (67 percent) for 2,370 yards and 22 touchdowns and broke three school records. (PHOTO: Jamie Foster)


Senior Hunter Walsh, who guided the McQuaid Jesuit Knights to a fourth-consecutive RCAC title and the Class AA Sectional finals, was named the conference’s Player of the Year according to the recently released honors list.

East’s co-coaches Steve Flagler and James Vann, who guided the Eagles back to the top of the City School heap, were named Coach of the Year.

Also earning accolades were:

  • Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player: Freddie Brock (East) and Desi Floyd (Wilson)
  • Defensive Most Valuable Player: Seven McGee (East)
  • Special Teams Player of the Year: Maurice Glenn (Leadership)
  • Co-Linemen of the Year: Bobby Searight (East) and Connor Zamiara (McQuaid)

In all, 33 players were named all conference from both sides of the ball:

  • McQuaid: nine (9)
  • East: seven (7)
  • Wilson: six (6)
  • Edison: five (5)
  • Leadership: three (3)
  • Monroe: three (3)

The list was dominated by juniors and seniors, but five underclassmen also made the list.

East sophomores Seven McGee, who recommitted to Oregon last month, earned the nod at safety; Anthony Gilbert at quarterback; and Mike Maxwell as a wide receiver. Leadership sophomore Mohamed Hussein was named as a defensive back, while Monroe freshman Raykim Chenier was one of five linebackers named.

For a complete list of award winners, see below:

RCAC Final Standings Div
1 McQuaid Jesuit 4-0
2 East 5-1
3 Wilson 3-2
4 Edison/SWW 2-2
5 Monroe 1-3
6 Leadership/NE/NW 0-5


Player of the Year School
Hunter Walsh McQuaid
Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player School
Freddie Brock East
Desi Floyd Wilson
Defensive Most Valuable Player School
Seven McGee East
Special Teams Player of the Year School
Maurice Glenn Leadership
Co-Linemen of the Year School
Bobby Searight East
Connor Zamiara McQuaid
Coach of the Year School
Steve Flagler/James Vann East


Offense School GR Pos
Hunter Walsh McQuaid 12 QB
Anthony Gilbert East 10 QB
Desi Floyd Wilson 12 RB
Mark Passero McQuaid 12 RB
Freddie Brock East 11 RB/WR
Michael Cathey Edison 11 RB
Tyquil Glasgow Monroe 12 WR
Ben Beauchamp McQuaid 12 WR
Ricky Gamble Wilson 12 WR
Maurice Glenn Leadership 12 WR
Mike Maxwell East 10 WR
Connor Zamiara McQuaid 12 TE
Gabe Gelke McQuaid 12 OL
Jothan Denegal Edison 11 OL
Kobe Boston Wilson (Early College) 11 OL
Mikquon Williams Wilson (Early College) 12 OL

Defense School GR Pos
Ryan O’Mara McQuaid 12 DE
Syr’dontaivyerr Seay Edison 12 DE
Quinn Bergeron McQuaid 11 DL
Joel Rodriguez Monroe 11 DL
Jalen Hayes Leadership 11 DT
Bobby Searight East 12 DT
Ja’kye Williams East 12 DT
Jervon Johnson Wilson 12 LB
Deljon Johnson East 12 LB
Mike Maloney McQuaid 12 LB
Jakari Clark Edison 11 LB
Raykim Chenier Monroe 9 LB
Nasir King Wilson 12 CB
Andrew Passero McQuaid 11 DB
Mohamed Hussein Leadership 10 DB
Omar Jarvis Edison 11 S
Seven McGee East 10 S

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.