Monroe County Division III Football: Irondequoit seniors top list

Irondequoit’s Freddy June (right) struck fear into the hearts of defensive coordinators his entire high school career and led the Eagles to the Class A title this year. (PHOTO: Kristin Williams)


Irondequoit was Monroe County’s top team in terms of advancing, blazing through the regular season and sectional playoffs unscathed to win Class A. The Eagles, who rose as high as ranked third in the state in Class A by the New York State Sportswriters Association (NYSSWA), placed eight players on the first team led by June, a repeat Player of the Year and a three-time first teamer. June led the Eagles in rushing (844 yards), completed 50 percent of his passes for another 1,118 yards, and accounted for 35 touchdowns.

“I have a great coaching staff and great kids around me and when that happens it makes it a lot easier,” IQ head coach Dan Fichter said. “My staff was top-notch.”

June was joined on the first team by seven IQ teammates, including Jaden Turner (Sr. RB), Patrick Thomas IV (Sr. WR), and a host of senior defenders: James Clements (LB), Nick Serce (DL/OL), Liam Jones (DL). Cameron Martin (DE), Quinn Simonson (WR/LB).

Eastridge placed seven players on first team, including Austin Shaeffer (Jr. OL), Brandon Lappetito (Sr. LB), Isaiah Rivera (Sr. CB), Jalen Rose Hannah (Jr. WR), Jordan Capers (Sr. DB/WR), Keaton Suhr (Sr. OL/DL), Matthew Brantley (Jr. RB).

Greece Arcadia, which rolled to a 5-0 start this season, had five players named to the first team: Alex Testa (Sr. DE), Jaquan Davis (Jr. LB), K’myn Crumity (Jr. RB), Nick Kalke (Sr. DL), Robert Consalvo (Jr. OL) and Shakim Harris (Jr. SS)

Brockport had four players, but also had the only two-way player make first team. Tyler Davies (Jr. was named as the Division’s top punter and kicker, while teammates Ishmail Hannah (Sr. OL), Jose Solis (Jr. WR), Kyle Palka (Sr. QB) also earned first-team nominations.

Ammon Jordan (Sr. RB/WR), Ryan Watson (Sr. QB) and Sam Tourangeau (So. LB) represented Brighton, while Johnny Salone (Sr. DE), Kelvin Reaves, Jr. (Sr. WR) did the same for Greece Athena.

Tourangeau was the only sophomore named to the first team.

For a complete list of award winners, see below:

Division III Final Standings Div
1 Irondequoit 5-0
2 Eastridge 3-1
3 Arcadia 3-1
4 Brockport 2-3
T5 Athena 1-4
T5 Brighton 1-3
T5 Spencerport 1-4


Player of the Year School
Frederick June, Jr Irondequoit
Coach of the Year School
Dan Fichter Irondequoit


First Team School GR Pos
Frederick June, Jr Irondequoit 12 QB
Kyle Palka Brockport 12 QB
Ryan Watson Brighton 12 QB
Jaden Turner Irondequoit 12 RB
Matthew Brantley Eastridge 11 RB
K’myn Crumity Arcadia 11 RB
Ammon Jordan Brighton 12 RB/WR
Jalen Rose Hannah Eastridge 11 WR
Jose Solis Brockport 11 WR
Kelvin Reaves Athena 12 WR
Patrick Thomas IV Irondequoit 12 WR/FS
Quinn Simonson Irondequoit 12 WR/LB
Austin Shaeffer Eastridge 11 OL
Robert Consalvo Arcadia 11 OL
Ishmail Hannah Brockport 12 OL
Nick Serce Irondequoit 12 OL/DL
Liam Jones Irondequoit 12 OL/DL
Keaton Suhr Eastridge 12 OL/DL
Cameron Martin Irondequoit 12 DE
Alex Testa Arcadia 12 DE
Johnny Salone Athena 12 DE
Nick Kalke Arcadia 12 DL
James Clements Irondequoit 12 LB
Brandon Lappetito Eastridge 12 LB
Jaquan Davis Arcadia 11 LB
Sam Tourangeau Brighton 10 LB
Isaiah Rivera Eastridge 12 CB
Jordan Capers Eastridge 12 DB/WR
Shakim Harris Arcadia 11 SS
Tyler Davies Brockport 11 K
Tyler Davies Brockport 11 P


Second Team School GR Pos
Brian Shonitsky Arcadia 9 QB
Reggie Boykins Spencerport 12 RB
Tony Arnold Eastridge 11 WR
Thomas Tan Irondequoit 12 C
Greg Wren Irondequoit 11 OL
Dan Davis Brockport 11 OL
Dom Polizzi Brockport 12 OL
Frank Antinetto Spencerport 12 OL/DL
Jayson Russell Athena 12 OL
Sean Dowdell Brockport 11 OL
Tyshawn Breedy Irondequoit 11 OL
Avery Bowens Eastridge 12 DE
Casey Amato Arcadia 11 DE
Ronnie Garrow III Irondequoit 10 DL
Sam O’Hora Brighton 11 DL
Liam Smith Irondequoit 12 LB
JaRon Frith Irondequoit 12 LB
Alejandro Diaz Eastridge 12 LB
Noah Bowens Eastridge 10 LB
Gabe Cantreas Arcadia 11 LB
Aryus Crumity Arcadia 12 LB
Najeeb Awad Brighton 12 LB
Clayton Teeter Brighton 12 LB
Silas Egenlauf Spencerport 11 LB/TE
Mike Vinci Spencerport 11 LB/TE
Purcell Brown Irondequoit 11 DB
Jared Hardies Brockport 12 DB
Lorcen Miller Athena 12 DB
Brett Bodensteiner Spencerport 12 DB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.