Rochester Amerks score four unanswered in win at Hershey

Rochester Amerks score four unanswered in win at Hershey

Four straight unanswered goals, including two from veteran defenseman Zach Redmond, helped the Rochester Americans (8-3-1-0) flip the script in the second-leg of a home-and-home series with the Hershey Bears (5-7-0-1) at Giant Center. Saturday night’s 4-1 victory for the Amerks was the 458th all-time meeting with the Bears and second in the last two nights between the AHL’s two oldest teams…

Yellowjacket women fall on senior day

Although the Eagles won, 3-1, it couldn’t spoil the mixture of good feeling, friendship, and scrappiness. All eight women started the game; Samantha Hlavac, Hannah Wadsworth (Brighton), Pamela Chan, Margaret Lee, Christina Feller, Annie McEachron, Kerri Eden, and Shayna Levy.

RIT women survive and advance on PK’s

In the shootout, Emily Thiel (Seattle, WA/Roosevelt), Rebecca Hext (Ottawa, ON/Longfields Davidson Heights) and Lauren Chester (Rochester, NY/Greece Olympia) each converted for RIT, while Sam Robinson, Brady Lynch and Ally Christman each scored for the Bombers. De Luca stepped up and buried her shot, and Salls came up with the big stop on Ithaca’s try.

UR men keep hopes alive with tie

It was Senior Day on the River Campus with the Yellowjackets honoring their nine seniors in pre-game ceremonies: Lasha Alkhazishvili, Nik Angyal, Ryan Aspenleiter (Pittsford Mendon), Patrice Douge, Milan Fatschel, Alec Hay, Bryce Ikeda, and Lucas Loescher. They also honored senior student manager  Sarely Licona.

No. 3 Brockport wins E8 title, extends streak

Brockport honored its 24 senior members in a ceremony prior to the game, celebrating the careers of Christian Hollister, Eric Yaeger, Rashad Baker, Cedric Campbell II, Jake O’Connell (Spencerport), Eamon Gillespie, CJ Bergmann, Matt Arita, Dylan Royce, Casey Goldberg (Brighton), Matt Szymanski, Tim Terry, Darnell Phillips, Tyler Laird, Caleb Ferdilus, Jacob Walker, Mike Ambrosio, Justice Honsinger, Austin Dean, Josh Kuliszekski, John Demy, Yunis Ashkar (Greece Athena), Terry McDonald and John Tucci.