Basketball HOF announces Watch List for 2021 Jerry West Award

Davidson’s Kellan Grady averaged 17.3 points per game in 2018-19 on 45.1 percent (194-of-430) shooting from the floor. (Photo: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports)

SPRINGFIELD, MA. — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award. Named after Class of 1980 Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor in its seventh year recognizes the top shooting guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“We are now entering our seventh year of the Naismith Starting Five and the competition to make the list is as fierce as ever,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “It is a tremendous honor to be selected to the preseason watch list and the young men we recognize should feel very proud. That being said, a player can be added to the watch list at any point in the season, so Mr. West and our committee are eager to evaluate talent as we return to on-court action in the coming weeks.”

Jerry West attended West Virginia University and averaged 24.8 points and 13.3 rebounds per game in his three varsity seasons. He led his team to the NCAA Championship game in 1959 and was named a consensus All-American in 1959 and 1960. In the summer of 1960, he was co-captain of the U.S. men’s basketball team and won an Olympic gold medal. As a professional player, West played 14 seasons in the NBA with the Lakers making the All-NBA First Team 10 times. West won an NBA championship in 1972 and was named the NBA Finals MVP in 1969 despite his team not winning the championship. In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In late February, five finalists will be presented to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The winner of the 2021 Jerry West Award will be presented on Friday, April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include Myles Powell, Seton Hall (2020), RJ Barrett, Duke (2019), Carsen Edwards,Purdue (2018), Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).

For more information on the 2021 Jerry West Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #WestAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, November 6.

2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Candidates*

John Petty Jr.Alabama
Terry TaylorAustin Peay
MaCio TeagueBaylor
Matt BradleyCalifornia
James BouknightConnecticut
Mitch BallockCreighton
Kellan GradyDavidson
Antoine DavisDetroit Mercy
DJ StewardDuke
Scottie LewisFlorida
MJ WalkerFlorida State
Joel AyayiGonzaga
Caleb MillsHouston
Joe WieskampIowa
Ochai AgbajiKansas
Terrence ClarkeKentucky
Franz WagnerMichigan
Jordan GoodwinSaint Louis
Justin MooreVillanova
Paul ScruggsXavier

*Playerscanplaytheirwayontoandoffofthelistatanypointinthe 2020-21 season*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.