Basketball HOF names Watch List for 2021 Bob Cousy Award

Dayton Flyers guard Jalen Crutcher (10) goes up for a shot against St. Bonaventure Bonnies guard Kyle Lofton (0) during the first half at University of Dayton Arena. (Photo: David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports)

SPRINGFIELD, MA –The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2021 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award. Named after Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its eighteenth year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“Since 2004, the Hall of Fame has had the honor of bestowing the Bob Cousy Award on the best point guards in the collegiate game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Today’s watch list includes many outstanding student-athletes and we know the fans are very excited to see them take the floor. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will allow fans to support their favorite players throughout the season and eventually play a part in helping us to select our winner. We greatly appreciate the support of Dell Technologies, the fans, our selection committee and the namesake of the award, Mr. Bob Cousy.”

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In late February, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The winner of the 2021 Bob Cousy Award will be presented April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Payton Pritchard, Oregon (2020), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2021 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, November 6.

2021 BobCousy Point Guard of the YearAwardCandidates*

Remy MartinArizona State
Jared ButlerBaylor
McKinley Wright IVColorado
Marcus ZegarowskiCreighton
Jalen CrutcherDayton
Scottie BarnesFlorida State
Jalen SuggsGonzaga
Ayo DosunmuIllinois
Marcus GarrettKansas
Javonte SmartLSU
Cade CunninghamOklahoma State
Colbey RossPepperdine
Fatts RussellRhode Island
Jacob GilyardRichmond
Geo BakerRutgers
Bryce AikenSeton Hall
Matt Coleman IIITexas
Collin GillespieVillanova
Kihei ClarkVirginia
D’Mitrik TriceWisconsin

*Playerscanplaytheirwayontoandoffofthelistatanypointinthe 2020-21 season*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.