Four seniors elected Northwestern captains

Courtesy of Northwestern Athletic Communications.
Courtesy of Northwestern Athletic Communications.

Courtesy of

EVANSTON, Ill. – Northwestern concluded training camp for the rapidly approaching 2015 season this week and on Friday head coach Pat Fitzgerald announced the four Wildcats who will serve as team captains for the upcoming campaign. The news was delivered at NU’s Meet the Team Night at Ryan Field.

From the defensive side of the ball, the player-elected captains are fifth-year senior defensive end Deonte Gibson and senior safety Traveon Henry. NU’s two captains from the offense, as chosen by their teammates, will be fifth-year senior wide receiver Christian Jones and senior superback Dan Vitale. All four will be first-time captains this fall, and all four are also members of Northwestern’s Leadership Council.

As a group, this foursome has been a significant part of 26 NU victories since 2011, and each of them was a member of the 2012 squad that captured the 2013 Gator Bowl, helping Chicago’s Big Ten Team win 10 games for the first time since 1995. Vitale has started 34 games for the ‘Cats, more than any other player on the roster; Jones owns 29 career starts, while Henry has lined up in the defensive backfield to open 20 games during his tenure in Evanston. Gibson has made 11 career starts, including eight a year ago.

For the second consecutive year Northwestern will open the season at Ryan Field against a visiting Pac-12 foe when Stanford arrives on Saturday, Sept. 5. The game, which kicks off at 11 a.m. CDT, will air on ESPN immediately following the network’s popular College GameDay program. It marks the first meeting between the Wildcats and Cardinal since the pair played to a 41-41 tie in 1994.

Season tickets and group packages for Northwestern’s upcoming seven-game slate at Ryan Field remain available. To purchase tickets today, please call 888-GO-PURPLE (888-467-8775) or visit NU’s online ticket sales center. The ‘Cats also host Eastern Illinois (Sept. 12) and Ball State (Sept. 26) in nonconference action before welcoming Minnesota (Oct. 3), Iowa (Oct. 17), Penn State (Nov. 7) and Purdue (Nov. 14) during Big Ten play.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.